Field Work

Posted on October 4, 2012

1


I went to the Glendale Galleria yesterday at around noon after my morning class. It was in the upper 90’s in So Cal so I thought this was a good location to analyze dress. Considering most outdoor places would be empty or filled with grumpy people. Due to the weather many people were in sandals, shorts, and basic tees. It was hard to get a good idea of who the people were based on dress because everything was so simple. When I first got there it wasn’t too busy and I repeatedly saw the same people throughout the mall. After the first hour it did get busier and there was more to observe. I tried to get a variety of examples as well as different ages. I went into different stores some included Target, Forever 21, Hot Topic, Apple, Macy’s, Mac, and the food court to name a few.

This was one of the first pictures I took so its a little blurry. However, I saw this older couple and thought they were so cute. They were dressed both casual with sweaters which was odd considering the weather. In basic jeans, capris, long-sleeved shirts, sweaters, and a hat!

This guy was wearing shorts and a tank top with a flourescent visor and helmet. he was also using a cane and had a back pack on. He looked kind of homeless but was happy. He definitely stood out in the crowd by what he was wearing even though they were also basics.

 

This was one of the employees at Forever 21. She was wearing black leggings, sandals, a pink V-neck, and a denim vest.

 

This lady was at Target. She was wearing sandals, a red and white skirt and a blue tank top. Her hair was pulled back and it looked like she was doing some errands.

 

This guy was also at Target. He was wearing a long-sleeved flannel, jeans, and Chuck Taylor shoes. He also was wearing a hat and HUGE headphones. This made him stand out. But I hate when people don’t pay attention to their surroundings when they shop!

This guy was on the third floor of the mall. He was wearing camo shorts, flannel, black polo, sneakers, and a baseball hat. He looked happy!

At the Apple store I was looking at the customers but to me one of the employees stood out the most. All employees wear bright blue shirts and if you’ve been to an Apple store before you know that there are a million! But she definitely tried to make the outfit her own. She had printed denim and bright red hair! The other half of her head was shaved which you can’t see in this picture but she definitely stood out.

This was definitely the flllyyyyest chic in the mall! She was rocking 4 different colors at once! She has a bright green short tank, bright blue jeans, and high top Chuck Taylors. Not to mention a yellow purse and dope hair! I loved her!

Thank you to my bf for helping me be a creeeperrr!

Posted in: ART 302